We use cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing, you agree to receive cookies on our website. Learn more

Mama Rita's Kitchen

Caribbean, African

31 Market Avenue, Plymouth, PL1 1PG

Opening at Thu 17:00

Overall

5.4 stars out of 6 5.4 / 6
Food quality 5.3
Delivery time 5.3
Service 5.6

Based on the 12 most recent reviews

33 reviews of Mama Rita's Kitchen

  • 27/04/2019
    Kim
    6 stars out of 6
    Really authentic food. Takes me back to Africa. My fave place to eat.
  • 20/12/2018
    Moses
    6 stars out of 6
  • 08/12/2018
    Marcelina
    1.5 stars out of 6
    Food was cold
  • 07/12/2018
    Amie
    6 stars out of 6
    Everything we had was really delicious, would give 6 stars if I could. Will definitely order again :)
  • 01/12/2018
    Elliot
    5.5 stars out of 6
    Food was very good. Only confusion was got a text to say food was out for delivery at 5.40 but didn’t arrive until 6.20. Was worried food would be cold but it was fine
  • 26/10/2018
    Naomi
    5 stars out of 6
  • 18/10/2018
    Anthony
    6 stars out of 6
    always been a great go to place in Plymouth for tasty home cooked food, seems to be more expensive lately with smaller portions but still amazing food
  • 06/10/2018
    Renata
    1 stars out of 6
  • 29/09/2018
    Suzanne
    6 stars out of 6
    I have ate in Mama Ritas before and the food that was delivered was so lovely, healthy and fresh, I think this one is far more superior than the other businesses through just eat.
  • 28/09/2018
    Heather
    5.5 stars out of 6
    I ordered the ackee and saltfish, curry goat, rice and peas and dumpling. The food was delicious! The ackee and saltfish was particularly good. The dumpling were a little over cooked for my liking but overall, love Mama Ritas! Will definitly order again :-)
  • 22/09/2018
    Kianna
    6 stars out of 6
    Ordered from here a few times now and it's always been fantastic! Strongly recommend ☺️
  • 20/09/2018
    Victoria
    6 stars out of 6
  • 15/09/2018
    Helen
    6 stars out of 6
  • 13/09/2018
    Kiri
    6 stars out of 6
    I have been telling my other half about how amazing Caribbean food is. We had something to celebrate last night, so I decided to show him. He is completely in love with what he had & cannot wait to order from you again to explore your menu. I can quite happily say there was nothing I would have changed about our order. Everything was perfect! My new go-to is Mama Rita's. 5 star all the way! To anyone that hasn't tried Mama Rita's Menu - Do It!!!! Thank you for our incredible meal, looking forward to next time already :)
  • 05/09/2018
    Chelsea
    5.5 stars out of 6
    Young lady went the extra mile to deliver the food. Great service and good food!
  • 21/08/2018
    Cerys
    6 stars out of 6
    Excellent service. Excellent food. Absolutely delicious.
  • 31/07/2018
    Chris
    6 stars out of 6
  • 26/07/2018
    Michelle
    2.5 stars out of 6
  • 12/07/2018
    Ade
    6 stars out of 6
    first time ordering from them. where have they been all my life!! incredible food.
  • 06/07/2018
    Sam
    5.5 stars out of 6
    Great place - love it
  • 05/04/2018
    Riunite
    4 stars out of 6
    Food was good it was just different from what I am use to back state side
  • 06/04/2018
    Tamora
    5.5 stars out of 6
    Absolutely the best Afro-Caribbean food I have had outside of London. I am Guyanese Indian and the mutton curry was second only to my Grandmothers. Vastly better than Turtle Bay. I can't wait to try the rest of the menu! The only downside was that my order was missing rice and peas that should have come with a main and chilli dip for the fried chicken. But the food came early and was hot, fresh and delicious. The only thing I can say is that I have never had carrots in a mutton curry (but that is a minor thing) and that it would be nice if the fried chicken came as legs and drumsticks not breast strips... but this is a very minor thing; it was all delicious. I wish they had Roti on the menu too...
  • 07/04/2018
    Riunite
    1 stars out of 6
    The menu in the site clearly states all meals come with rice and peas but I got my meal and they said I had to order rice and peas. Also even if I wanted to there is no option to get that added to the meal I ordered this is crazy!
  • 07/04/2018
    John
    4 stars out of 6
    As I type this the food is 45 minutes late, I like to think this is not usual for them but I doubt I'll be using Mama Rita's again based on this which is a shame as I love their food when I visit the restaurant.
  • 17/05/2018
    Bunny
    6 stars out of 6
  • 25/05/2018
    Esther
    3 stars out of 6
    ONE WORD "DISAPPOINTING" I Am Extremely Disappointed With The Portions, Prices & Flavourless Food Will Not Recommended To Anyone Else At ALL...
  • 30/05/2018
    Jack
    2.5 stars out of 6
  • 31/05/2018
    Thomas
    6 stars out of 6
    This is the best Caribbean food around!
  • 09/06/2018
    Rachel
    6 stars out of 6
  • 29/06/2018
    Simon
    6 stars out of 6
1 of 2 next 30

There are no items in your basket

Delivery available on orders of £15 and over (delivery fee £2.50)

View order